Tiny Ruins announces the upcoming release of their new album Olympic Girls on February 1st, 2019. New single and title track ‘Olympic Girls‘ is released with its official music video today October 19th.

Directed by Charlotte Evans, the video follows the first acoustic guitar flourish of ‘Olympic Girls’ ushering the potent words of Tiny Ruins’ Hollie Fullbrook. “Stirring, shaken, all of us waking.” The track is buoyant with a rolling energy. “Another day bolder / A love spell rushes you by.” Cascading electric guitars counterpoint with a razor-sharp post-punk edge as the drums and bass stampede along, Fullbrook urging an exhilarating shake-up of the status quo – as the chorus dictates, “We were only inches away / still have a long, long way to go.

Album three, Olympic Girls, was produced by bandmate Tom Healy. Patiently built in the same underground lair (Paquin Studios at The Lab in hometown Auckland) as their previous record Brightly Painted One. Whereas that was recorded in three short weeks, the new album was made over a drawn out period of spontaneity and experimentation spanning a year, stridently reaching beyond Fullbrook’s formerly minimalist domain. Olympic Girls will be released on LP, CD and digitally on February 1st, 2019. Olympic Girls is an independent release on Ursa Minor (NZ), Milk! Records (AU), Ba Da Bing (U.S.) and Marathon Artists (UK / EU).

The album announcement comes just after the NZ headline tour with the full band, kicked off in Christchurch before Thursday November 1st in Auckland at Galatos and Saturday November 3rd in Wellington at San Fran. This tour will invite audiences to discover these new songs for the first time plus many fan favourites.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *